The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.


LBIC is an infrastructure within the Medical Faculty at Lund University, positioned directly under the Faculty Board. The Centre is under the leadership of the Director and co-director and is led and coordinated by the Steering Committee.  

LBIC is made up of six technology facilities, each managed by a facility responsible person acting as coordinator of the activity.

  • Microscopy: Lina Gefors
  • Preclinical Nuclear Medicine: Rita Gidlöf
  • Preclinical 9.4 Tesla Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Michael Gottschalk
  • Clinical 1.5/3 Tesla Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Pia Sundgren
  • National 7 Tesla Facility: Karin Markenroth Bloch
  • Analysis and Visualization: Jonas Ahlstedt

Steering Committee

LBIC is led and coordinated by a steering committee, with competences reflecting the equipment and bioimaging techniques represented by each platform. 

Gunilla Westergren-Thorsson

Gunilla Westergren-Thorsson


Email: Gunilla [dot] Westergren-Thorsson [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)46-222 86 95

Pia Sundberg

Pia Maly Sundgren


Email: Pia [dot] Sundgren [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Mobile: +46 (0)706 24 15 61

Lars E Olsson

Lars E Olsson

Email: Lars_E [dot] Olsson [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)40 33 17 28

Lena Eliasson

Lena Eliasson

Email: lena [dot] eliasson [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 40 39 11 53

Linda Knutsson

Linda Knutsson

Email: Linda [dot] Knutsson [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)46 17 85 47

Pontus Nordenfelt

Pontus Nordenfelt

Email: Pontus [dot] Nordenfelt [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)46 222 85 71

Research Boards

All proposed projects are evaluated by a Research Board, with respect to possibility to perform the intended experiments successfully, given the equipment available at LBIC. At the moment, there are three research boards connected to LBIC:

Preclinical Research Board

Ritha Gidlöf. Image

Ritha Gidlöf, Ph.D.

Laboratory Researcher / Radiochemist Platform responsible - Preclinical Nuclear Medicine

Email: Ritha [dot] Gidlof [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)46 222 09 33


Katarina Sjögreen Gleisner

Email: Katarina [dot] Sjogreen_Gleisner [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Thomas Blom. Image

Thomas Blom

Email: Thomas [dot] Blom [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Lina Gefors. Image

Lina Gefors

Research Engineer, Platform coordinator - Microscopy

Email: Lina [dot] Gefors [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)46 222 07 12

Michael Gottschalk

Michael Gottschalk, Ph.D.

Platform responsible - Preclinical Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Email: Michael [dot] Gottschalk [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Telephone: +46 (0)46 222 73 01

Clinical Research Board

The Clinical Research Board is located within Region Skåne organization. For more info, visit their page. (The page is in Swedish) If you are english speaking person, you can also contact our facility responsible co-worker, Pia [dot] SundGren [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (Pia Sundgren).

7T Research Board

  • Isabella Björkman-Burtscher, Göteborg University
  • Boel Hansson, Lund University
  • Maria Ljungberg, Göteborg University
  • Peter Lundberg, Linköping University, vice chair
  • Pia Maly Sundgren, Lund University, chair
  • Karin Markenroth Bloch, LBIC
  • Rodrigo Moreno, KTH
  • Cecilia Petersen, Skåne University hospital
  • Johan Wikström, Uppsala University
  • Anders Wåhlin, Umeå University
  • René in 't Zandt, LBIC